Ipsy August 2017 Glam Bag and My First Ever Beauty Review

I’m not very stylish. I don’t know how to piece together a cute outfit, or how to do fancy makeup. But it’s something I want to learn and get into.

When I was a teenager I loved doing my hair and makeup, and even made my own clothes. I was deep into the DIY punk culture and really enjoyed playing with my look. As I got older, and became a parent, I thought it would be best to tone it down until I eventually lost myself.

One of my goals for this year was to start exploring new styles and makeup brands. My sister is a hairstylist and makeup artist, and certified to do eyelash extensions. She likes beauty stuff, which is completely the opposite of me! We were talking about makeup and she suggested I try a subscription service like Ipsy to try out different products. Well, since I needed all new makeup anyway, I decided to sign up.

My very first Ipsy glam bag arrived just yesterday! And here’s what I got:

Ipsy August 2017 Glam Bag and My First Ever Beauty Review

What is Ipsy?

Ipsy is a monthly beauty and makeup subscription box. Each month you get a variety of products based on your personal profile that you fill out when you sign up. In this profile you get to select what kind of products and brands you’re most interested in, as well as your hair and eye colour, and skin tone. These products are then packaged in a new, cute makeup bag each month and mailed directly to your house.

What Was In My August 2017 Glam Bag?

I received five products in total, inside a super cute bag that reads “Good Vibes Only” on the front.

When I peaked inside I found a variety of products including facial cleanser, liquid eyeliner, eyeshadow, concealer and nail polish. I was pleasantly surprised to learn most of these products are cruelty-free, and a couple vegan. I’m interested in switching over to a vegan lifestyle and have been making slow changes to get there.

Juara – Rice Facial Cleanser

Ipsy August 2017 Glam Bag and My First Ever Beauty Review

This one is a sample size, and it smells delicious!

The bottle says it’s suitable for all skin types, removes makeup and leaves your skin soft and smooth. When I used it to wash my face, it did a good job of cleaning off the minimal amount of makeup I had on. I don’t know as of yet if it will work well on the days I wear a lot of makeup.

The texture is very runny and it kind of left my face feeling dry. Which I suppose isn’t a bad thing since I usually have oily skin.

However, it says on the back that it’s 100% vegetarian, and not tested on animals.

Price – A full bottle of Juara Rice Facial Cleanser costs $29USD

Seraphine Botanicals – Liquid Coal Waterproof Liquid LinerIpsy August 2017 Glam Bag and My First Ever Beauty Review

This is a full size of liquid eyeliner in an easy-to-apply stick. It comes out super black, which is perfect for me! I love dark black eyeliner! And it came at the perfect time, because I just ran out of liquid eyeliner and was going to go out and buy one.

It’s 100% vegan, cruelty-free, gluten-free and hypoallergenic. Which all sounds pretty good to me!

The Liquid Coal Waterproof Liquid Liner might be my favourite product from this month’s glam bag.

Price: $22USD

Yadah – Silky Fit Concealer BB Power Brightening

Ipsy August 2017 Glam Bag and My First Ever Beauty Review

This triple functioning little tube of concealer BB is awesome! Not only does it help even out your skin, it’s also an anti-wrinkle cream with sunscreen.

I don’t like wearing heavy makeup, so it was really important to me that it didn’t feel heavy. I was in luck! It’s a nice, soft concealer that actually evened out my skin tone and brightened my face without being too thick. I guess that’s the beauty of BB cream!

I’m excited to keep using it throughout the month!

Price: $18.70USD for a full bottle

theBalm Voyage Vol.2 – Kuwakaribisha

Ipsy August 2017 Glam Bag and My First Ever Beauty Review

My next little sample is a nice neutral eyeshadow from theBalm Voyage.

I’m really digging the packaging! And the eyeshadow is nice, too! I mean, it goes on nice and shimmery. Some brands I’ve tried in the past barely show up and fade away too quickly. This one, however, is highly pigmented and lasted all day!

I’m a big fan of neutral eyeshadow, so I’m sure this will get used up really quick!

Price: $39.50USD for the entire palette

sundays – No. 07 Nail Polish

Ipsy August 2017 Glam Bag and My First Ever Beauty Review

I received a full bottle of sundays No. 07 nail polish in my glam bag, and put it on as soon as I was done taking pictures!

Most of the time I much prefer a bright, colourful nail polish, but this one is actually quite nice. It’s actually very close to my skin tone, which makes it super subtle but hides my natural nails enough to look good.

This product is also vegan and cruelty-free!

Price: $18USD

My Thoughts on the August 2017 Glam Bag

Ipsy August 2017 Glam Bag and My First Ever Beauty Review

This was my first ever subscription package, and I was not disappointed! For just $10USD I received some really cute makeup that I can’t wait to start wearing every day!

My favourite products are probably the Seraphine liquid liner and theBalm eyeshadow. That might just be because I really like doing my eye makeup, but also because of how nice it turned out!

Next would be the nail polish. It goes on easy and dries quickly, which is important to me because I don’t have the patience to wait for it dry and always ruin it!

I’m not a big fan of the Juara rice facial cleanser. I felt it left my face a bit too dry, but I always wear moisturizer anyway so it wasn’t the worst thing in the world.

My only real complaint would be how neutral this entire pack was. I was really hoping for some bright colours to play around with! But, there’s always next month! And I am a fan of neutrals.

All in all, this was a great deal! I got a full sized nail polish and eyeliner, which total $30USD all on its own! And these are all products that I will use quite regularly.

Interested in Ipsy?

Ipsy is only $10USD a month, with free shipping!


Do you have any beauty subscriptions? Which one is your favourite and why?Lips Logo for Blog

*This was not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own! However, if you do choose to sign up for Ipsy through my referral links in this post I will receive points.

Lets be friends on: BLOGLOVIN / FACEBOOK / TWITTER INSTAGRAM / PINTEREST

1 Comment

  1. That seems like a great first package starting off with neutrals. I usually get Glossybox on and off, it’s a great way to discover beauty brands. When it comes to makeup I tend to stick to natural and basic looks, I haven’t mastered any fancy makeup techniques. Great post dear, can’t wait to see what you get next month.

    Tx.
    Tajinder Sandhu recently posted…Establishing IdentityMy Profile

Write A Comment

CommentLuv badge